Abbeanum at Fröbelstieg 1

Institute for Theoretical Physics

Abbeanum at Fröbelstieg 1
Image: A. Sternbeck

The Institute for Theoretical Physics (TPI) is part of the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. Its main research focus lies on Quantum Field Theory and General Relativity as well as their mutual interplay.

Quantum Field Theories are of great significance for our understanding of the fundamental interactions of Nature at microscopic length scales. Moreover, Quantum Field Theory provides a useful tool-set for the study of phase transitions and dynamics in many-body system and has gained increasing relevance in applied fields like micro and nano-technology.

The dominant force at large distance scales in our Universe is the gravitational force, as it is formulated by the gravitational theory based on Einstein's General Relativity. Moreover, this theory describes small distortions of space-time, which propagate through space as so-called gravitational waves. The study of such waves gives rise to gravitational-wave astronomy.

In recent years, Quantum Gravity has been established as a third pillar of the TPI. The aim of this research direction is to understand both Quantum Field Theory and General Relativity as limits of one single fundamental theory. One particular approach is given by the so-called Holographic Principle, a very active research area, which over the last two decades has provided various fascinating insights into the quantum nature of Black Holes and space-time, as well as the dynamics of strongly interacting quantum fields.

Spiral Dance of Black Holes
Gravitational waves
Gravitational waves are a fascinating consequence of ...
Sombrero Galaxy
Relativistic Astrophysics
Relativistic Astrophysics deals with stars and ...
Wave
Numerical Relativity
Numerical relativity investigates ...
gaussian beam worldline
Quantum Vacuum Phenomena
The Quantum vacuum is the ground state of our ...
Minkowski tube
Holographic Duality
Fascinating insights into the quantum nature of Black Holes
Particles and Quantum fields
Quantum Fields
Particles, Symmetries and phase transitions ..
Quantum mechanics and gravity
Freigeist Fellowship
We study effects of gravitational decoherence in quantum systems

Latest News

Jena
SIFT 2019: Strongly-Interacting Field Theories
Within the SIFT workshop series at Jena's TPI, we aim to bring together researchers from different areas of theoretical physics who study manifestations and phenomena of strongly-interacting field theories, in order to allow for a transfer of knowledge and methods.

How to reach us

Institute for Theoretical Physics
Abbeanum
Fröbelstieg 1
07743 Jena
Phone
+49 3641 9-47101
Fax
+49 3641 9-47102
Opening hours:
Monday to Friday 7am - 7pm
Postal address:
Max-Wien-Platz 1
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University in the social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the Best Practice Club "Family at the University"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Abbeanum am Fröbelstieg 1

Theoretisch-Physikalisches Institut

Abbeanum am Fröbelstieg 1
Foto: A. Sternbeck

Das Theoretisch-Physikalische Institut (TPI) ist Teil der Physikalisch-Astronomischen Fakultät der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Quantenfeld- und Gravitationstheorien sowie deren Wechselspiel bilden derzeit die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Instituts.

Quantenfeldtheorien sind von großer Bedeutung für unser Verständnis der fundamentalen Wechselwirkungen in der Natur, gewinnen aber auch zunehmend an Bedeutung für neuartige Anwendungen, zum Beispiel in der Mikro- und Nanotechnologie oder für die Untersuchung von Phasenübergängen in Vielkörpersystemen.

Auf großen Skalen dominiert die Gravitationskraft, die durch die Gravitationstheorie beschrieben wird und auf Einsteins Allgemeiner Relativitätstheorie basiert. Diese Theorie beschreibt auch die winzigen Verzerrungen der Raumzeit, welche sich in Form von Gravitationswellen im Raum ausbreiten und eine Gravitationswellenastronomie ermöglichen.

In den letzten Jahren hat sich Quantengravitation als dritte Säule des TPI etabliert, welche Quantenfeldtheorie und Relativitätstheorie als zwei Grenzwerte ein- und derselben grundlegenden Theorie zu verstehen versucht. Einen vielversprechenden Ansatzpunkt bietet hierbei das sogenannte Holographische Prinzip. Diesem vergleichsweise jungen Forschungsgebiet gelangen in den letzten beiden Dekaden faszinierende Einsichten in die Quantennatur Schwarzer Löcher und der Raumzeit sowie in die Dynamik stark gekoppelter Quantenfelder.

Spiral Dance of Black Holes
Gravitationswellen
Gravitationswellen sind eine der faszinierenden Voraussagen ...
Sombrero Galaxy
Relativistische Astrophysik
Die relativistische Astrophysik beschäftigt sich mit Sternen ...
Welle - Teilchen
Numerische Relativitätstheorie
Die numerische Relativitätstheorie untersucht ...
Gaussian beam worldline
Phänome des Quantenvakuums
Das Quantenvakuum bildet den Grundzustandstand unserer Welt ...
Minkowski Roehre
Holographische Dualititäten
Faszinierende Einsichten in die Quantennatur Schwarzer Löcher
Teilchen und Quantenfelder
Quantenfelder
Teilchen, Symmetrien und Phasenübergänge
Quantenmechanik und Gravitation
Freigeist Fellowship
Wir untersuchen gravitative Decohärenzeffekte auf Quantensysteme

Aktuelles

Jena
SIFT 2019: Strongly-Interacting Field Theories
Im Rahmen der SIFT Workshopreihe treffen sich Forschende aus verschiedenen Gebieten der Theoretischen Physik, die Eigenschaften und Phänomene stark-wechselwirkender Feldtheorien untersuchen, um einen Wissenstransfer und einen Austausch neuer Methoden zwischen den Gebieten zu ermöglichen.

So finden Sie uns

Theoretisch-Physikalisches Institut
Abbeanum
Fröbelstieg 1
07743 Jena
Telefon
+49 3641 9-47101
Fax
+49 3641 9-47102
Öffnungszeiten:
Montag bis Freitag 7 - 19 Uhr
Postanschrift:
Max-Wien-Platz 1
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang