Faculty Awards

Every year, normally on the Alumni Day, the best Master, Examination or Doctoral thesis of the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy will be awarded a prize. In addition there is a prize for supporting the research in a doctoral project. The prizes were endowed by several sponsors de.

Announcement of the prizes for 2023

The deadline for the application to the following prizes is 5th December 2023.

  • Faculty prizes sponsored by Rohde & Schwarz, München
  • Prize of the Dr.-Ing. Siegfried Werth Foundation
  • Zeiss Ph.D. Award in Modern Optics
  • Friedrich Hund Ph.D. Award
  • Examination Prize of the Friedrich Schiller University
  • Ph.D. Award of the Friedrich Schiller University
  • Rowena Morse Prize (former Habilitation Prize) of the Friedrich Schiller University

    Every year the Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität de awards  an habilitation prize for outstanding performance.  Since 2021 the prize was named Rowena Morse Prize and opened to a wider field of young post docs like Junior professors or Leaders of Research Groups.

    The prize winners of the Faculty of Physic and Astronomy are:

    • 1999
      PD Dr. Jürgen BlumExternal linkAstrophysical Institute and University Observatory
      "Planetesimalentstehung im frühen Sonnensystem - Beiträge der Laborastrophysik"
    • 2003
      Dr. habil. Wolf Gero Schmidt
      Institute of Condensed Matter Theory and Optics
      "Semiconductor surfaces and their optical properties calculated from first principles"
    • 2010
      Dr. habil. Ulrich Sperhake
      Institute of Theoretical Physics
      "Numerical simulations of astrophysical black-hole binaries"
    • 2017
      PD Dr. Claudia Schnohr
      Institute of Solid State Physics
      Complex semiconductors: From atomic-scale structure to band gap bowing"
      Picture of the Awarding Ceremonyjpeg, 126 kb · de
    • 2023
      Junior Professor Dr. Giancarlo Soavi de
      Institute of Solid State Physics
      for his research in the field of nonlinear optics and ultrafas spectroscopy of quantum limited systems
  • DAAD-Prize

    Every year the Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (German Academis Exchange Service) awards a prize for outstanding performance of foreign students. The prize is donated with 1,000 Euro.

    At the Friedrich Schiller University the DAAD-Prize is awarded during the annual matriculation ceremony.

    The prize winners of the Faculty of Physic and Astronomy are: