Quantum mechanics and gravity

Freigeist-Fellowship: Gravitating Quantum Systems

Quantum mechanics and gravity
Image: A. Grossardt
Information

We currently build the research team. If you are interested, follow the link for vacant positions.

Research topics

Quantum Mechanics and Gravity

Quantum mechanics finds its application in particular at the scale of atoms and molecules. Nonetheless, quantum effects are studied in ever growing systems of ever growing mass. Gravitational effects, which have so far been neglected, could soon become relevant. This opens the chance for an experimental evaluation of our concepts of space, time, and matter, and can lead the way to the yet unknown theory uniting general relativity and quantum mechanics. An unambiguous and well-established theoretical understanding of the gravitational interaction of quantum matter, however, is still lacking.

Decoherence in quantum systems in the gravitational field

For a quantum particle in the Earth’s gravitational field, Newtonian gravity has already been experimentally tested, however, corrections due to general relativity have not. Gravitational decoherence effects are one of the most promising ways to look for experimental guidance. A systematic evaluation of those effects can provide insight into which of them are the result of classical fluctuations of spacetime and which have their roots in a gravitational field with quantum properties.

The gravitational field of quantum matter

Our knowledge is even less solid when it comes to the question of how quantum matter sources the gravitational field. Take the famous double slit experiment for example, and con- duct it with a heavy quantum particle. Is the resulting gravitational field itself a superposition of two fields—as one would expect in analogy to electrodynamics—or is the geometrical concept of classical space-time valid even at small scales, as sometimes suggested? To date, neither of these possibilities has been ruled out, by observation nor by theoretical reasoning. The two different approaches can, however, lead to different predictions for laboratory experiments that might be feasible in the foreseeable future.

Contact

André Großardt, Dr
Head of Research Group
Andre Großardt
Abbeanum
Fröbelstieg 1
07743 Jena

Research group

Andre Großardt Show content
Andre Großardt Image: A. Großardt

Short-CV

  • 2010 Diplom, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

  • 2013 Promotion, Leibniz Universität Hannover und ZARM, Universität Bremen

  • 2013 – 2016 Postdoc, Università degli studi di Trieste (DFG-Forschungsstipendium)

  • 2017 – 2019 Postdoc, Queen‘s University Belfast
    (Feodor-Lynen-Fellowship der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung)

  • seit 2019 Nachwuchsgruppenleitung, FSU Jena (‚Freigeist‘ Fellowship der VolkswagenStiftung)

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University in the social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the Best Practice Club "Family at the University"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Quantenmechanik und Gravitation

Freigeist-Fellowship: Gravitating Quantum Systems

Quantenmechanik und Gravitation
Foto: A. Grossardt
Information

Die Arbeitsgruppe befindet sich derzeit im Aufbau. Interesse? Dann bewerben Sie sich hier.

Forschungsthemen

Quantenmechanik und Gravitation

Die Quantenmechanik findet vor allem auf der Größenskala von Atomen und Molekülen Anwendung. In Laboren werden aber auch quantenmechanische Effekte an immer größeren Systemen immer größerer Masse untersucht. Gravitationseffekte, die man dabei bislang vernachlässigte, könnten schon bald von Bedeutung sein. Dies eröffnet die Möglichkeit, unser Konzept von Raum, Zeit und Materie einer experimentellen Überprüfung zu unterziehen, und kann den Weg hin zu der noch unbekannten Theorie weisen, die Allgemeine Relativitätstheorie und Quantenmechanik vereint. Eine etablierte und unzweideutige theoretische Beschreibung der Gravitationswechselwirkung von Quantenmaterie muss allerdings erst gefunden werden.

Dekohärenz in Quantensystemen im Gravitationsfeld

Für ein Teilchen im Erdgravitationsfeld wurde die Newtonsche Gravitation bereits experimentell getestet, relativistische Korrekturen jedoch nicht. Gravitative Dekohärenzeffekte sind einer der erfolgversprechendsten Wege nach experimenteller Orientierung zu suchen. Eine systematische Auswertung dieser Effekte kann zeigen, welche davon das Ergebnis von klassischen Gravitationsfluktuationen sind und welche ihren Ursprung in einem quantenmechanisch zu beschreibendem Gravitationsfeld haben.

Das Gravitationsfeld von Quantenmaterie

Noch weniger ist darüber bekannt, wie Quantenmaterie als Quelle des Gravitationsfeldes wirkt. Man betrachte etwa das berühmte Doppelspaltexperiment, das mit einem schweren Teilchen durchgeführt wird. Ist das resultierende Gravitationsfeld eine Superposition zweier Felder – wie man es in Analogie zur Elektrodynamik erwarten würde – oder bleibt das geometrische Konzept der klassischen Raumzeit auch auf kleinen Skalen gültig, wie gelegentlich vorgeschlagen? Bisher wurde keine dieser Möglichkeiten widerlegt, weder experimentell noch anhand theoretischer Argumente. Beide Ansätze führen allerdings zu unterschiedlichen Vorhersagen für Laborexperimente, deren Durchführung schon in naher Zukunft möglich sein könnte.

Kontakt

André Großardt, Dr.
Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe
Andre Großardt
Telefon
+49 3641 9-47137
Abbeanum, Raum 306
Fröbelstieg 1
07743 Jena

Arbeitsgruppe

Andre Großardt Inhalt einblenden
Andre Großardt Foto: A. Großardt

Werdegang

  • 2010 Diplom, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

  • 2013 Promotion, Leibniz Universität Hannover und ZARM, Universität Bremen

  • 2013 – 2016 Postdoc, Università degli studi di Trieste (DFG-Forschungsstipendium)

  • 2017 – 2019 Postdoc, Queen‘s University Belfast
    (Feodor-Lynen-Fellowship der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung)

  • seit 2019 Nachwuchsgruppenleitung, FSU Jena (‚Freigeist‘ Fellowship der VolkswagenStiftung)

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang